Rochester Restaurants

I’m writing to the handful of restaurants here that my family patronizes, asking them to go non-GMO.  IRT provides a sample letter (watch out, has a typo and a wrong homonym), but I think it’s best to customize it heavily so they know that real customers care about GMOs.  Here’s the text of my letter to Moe’s Southwest Grill, which I sent to both corporate and my local restaurant:

Dear Restaurant Manager,

My family has been a frequent customer of Moe’s since you came to Rochester, and I’d like you to know that healthy dining options are an important factor in our decision when we choose to eat outside our home.  I love that you offer fresh vegan options, whole wheat wraps, and have nutrition information available.

But I, like many others, have become concerned with the genetically modified (GM) ingredients so prevalent in our food supply today.  I think about this as my family is eating your corn chips.  No human health or adequate safety testing has been done on these genetically altered foods and it is unclear if these GM foods are causing the increase in disorders such as allergies, asthma, autism, heart disease or cancer. In fact in May 2009, the American Academy of Environmental Medicine released a policy paper urging all doctors to prescribe non-GMO diets for everyone, stating that animal studies show that GM food is linked to infertility, immune problems, accelerated aging, organ damage, and gastrointestinal problems. They called for a moratorium on GMOs, and mandatory labeling.  Unfortunately, I suspect some of the ingredients used in your restaurant are genetically modified.

Considering the growing awareness and questionable health effects of these GM foods I am asking you to consider using only non-GMO ingredients in your restaurant.  In fact, it is in your best interest to move away from using GM ingredients as more and more consumers become aware of the dangers of these foods.  By eliminating GM foods, you will gain the respect and trust of the community and families who make healthy eating a priority.  Your competitor, Chipotle, is beginning this transition with humility and transparency.

I look forward to witnessing your restaurant’s move towards non-GM ingredients.  For more information on the health risks and the growing consumer non-GMO movement, go to The Institute for Responsible Technology’s site http://www.ResponsibleTechnology.org.  To find out more about using non-GM ingredients, see http://www.NonGMOShoppingGuide.com.

Thank you for your time,

Care to join me?

This entry was posted in Store and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

